top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturelucya1983

Becoming a UkEd Champion...

As you are are more than aware, (sorry for constant influx of blog posts!), I LOVE to blog as a means of reflection, to document my teaching and study journey and to collaborate with other practitioners - by sharing my posts on Twitter. Not only has this gained me a fab Personal Learning Network, (essential for 21st Century Learning and also fulfilling one of the new Professional Teaching & Leadership Standards for Wales), but it has also given me the humbling opportunity for others to approach me to write for their publications and websites or to speak at their events - totally out of my comfort zone and crazy things to happen, in my opinion!


One of this week's highlights was being approached by UKEd Chat, to become one of the first UKEd Champions. This was very flattering and unexpected, as it showed other professionals' endorsement and recognition of my research, writing and enthusiasm for teaching - so of COURSE I saw YES! So, what does is entail?



Speaking about the programme, Martin Burrett (UKEd Magazine editor) said: “The idea of the Champions programme is to celebrate everything to do with teaching and learning. The programme encourages practicing teachers to write blogs and articles which reflect on and share what you do in the classroom, and then progress on to conduct academic research into an education topic, publish your work and present to your teaching peers.”


So... in a nutshell, I will continue to share my blogs and will soon be sharing my published flipped learning action-research on iBooks with you all. All things I was doing anyway, but now I can do it within my role of a UKEd Champion and utilise it as a structure to scaffold my development :)


Collaboration is key in education and a real focal point right now, (as it should be!) and by sharing our research; engaging in Twitter Chats, attending Teach Meets etc., we can all learn and grow as practitioners - whilst providing the best experiences possible for our learners. 100 heads are better than one right? Isn't it better to have 10 'go-to' people (with different approaches) for any given topic at your fingertips online, than just 1 or 2 in your school or uni? Hmmmm for me, DEFINITELY! Being respected and recognised for my commitment to collaboration so early in my career, (well, technically before it has even started!) is beyond humbling and having the backing of a well-established educational media output like UKEd is more than I ever could have hoped for as an incentive to push myself even further!


I will be back soon with some exciting news about me bringing Flipped Learning training with Edpuzzle to our area very soon...Watch this space!


Thanks for reading.









35 views0 comments
bottom of page